Moseley Road Methodist Church
The rebuilt church as it is today
The Church of Christ on Moseley Road, now the Islamic Relief Centre
This originally opened in 1912 with seating for 400. It was built to replace the Chapel in Charles Henry Street which dated from 1857. In 1980 the congregation moved again, this time to the splendid new ...
St. Paul's parish magazine
The parish magazine started in 1854 and reflected the variety of local activities - Sunday schools, Bible classes, sports, clubs, outings, charitable and missionary work.
St Barnabas Church
St Barnabas Church Ladypool Road was originally a tin hut mission of St Paul's in 1890. The new building opened in 1904 but was partly destroyed by bombing during the Second World War
St Alban's Church
The old St Alban's Church
Highgate Baptist Church
The modern Baptist Church in Highgate seen in 2000
Friends' Hall and Institute
The church at the rear of the Friends' Hall and Institute 1899 now used by the New Testament Church of God.
Pollock brothers
St Alban's Church, Conybere Street, began as a small mission established in 1865 by the Pollock brothers, who were Anglican priests. The brothers were attacked in 1867 for their high-church rituals, but ...
Guru nanak Gurdwara
The Guru nanak Gurdwara Bhat singh Sabha and Community Centre on Moseley Road 2002
Places of Work
This magnificent brass clock was Samuel Heath & Sons contribution to the Great Exhibition in 1853
The Ephraim Phillips factory today.
Ephraim Phillips started in Bissell Street in 1880 and, although the company is no longer there, the building still stands today.
Ryland's Factory
Ryland's paint and varnish factory in Haden Street dating from 1860 and still there today. The firm owed it success to the mastery of a lacquer which could be applied without heat. The lacquer was produced ...
Samuel Heath & Sons
Samuel Heath & Sons' brassfounding factory in Leopold Street, established in 1830, and still flourishing today. It has been run by five successive generations of the same family and still occupies the ...
Ryland's Workers
A group of Ryland's workers, c. 1914.
Robinson's Removals
Robinson's Removals & Furniture Depository and Malcolm House Moseley Road
Moseley Road fire station
The new Moseley Road fire station built in 1972.
Moseley Road tram depot
A group of workers at Moseley Road tram depot which opened in 1907
Elcock & Sons Ltd
Elcock & Sons Ltd. metal spinners and pressworkers in Tindal Street. Another family firm. Elcock's was founded in the 1890s in a back garden workshop.